header background

Honorary Fellowship

The Honorary Fellowship is presented to individuals in recognition of outstanding achievement and contributions to the community consistent with the objects of RACMA. The presentation of the Honorary Fellowship is for distinguished individuals who contribute to the advancement of knowledge, or the betterment of society by advancing the role of medical administration well beyond the normal expectations in health services leadership and management, and in doing so have achieved eminence in their field at local, state, national or international level.

Nominations for the award are sought from College Fellows, which are then considered by the Board.

Professor Leonard (Len) Notaras AO, Executive Director of the National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre (NCCTRC) has been awarded the 2022 Honorary Fellowship of RACMA – in recognition of the significant and ongoing contribution to improving the delivery of quality healthcare across Australia, particularly within the Northern Territory, and for leading critical care and trauma response.

Professor Geoff McColl Executive, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Queensland has been awarded the 2022 Honorary Fellowship of RACMA – in recognition of sustained contributions to the advancement of knowledge in medicine and health services leadership and management spanning three decades.

Click here for the nomination form and click here for the Honorary Fellowship Award regulation.

Past Honorary Fellowship recipients:

2020/21 Dr Brendan Murphy
2019 Professor Clifford Hughes
2018    Dr Ashley Bloomfield
2016   Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite
2013   Dr Joanna Flynn
2012    Professor Christopher James Baggoley
2007    Professor Michael Good
2006    Dr YorkYat Ngok Chow
2004    Dr E K Yeoh
2004    Dr Ian McLaughlan Brown
2001    Associate Professor Philip Stokoe
1999   Professor John Hemsley Pearn  AM
1999    Dr Frederick Gordon Jones
1998    Dr Donald Grimes
1998    Dr Michael Wooldridge  MP
1998    Dr Samsi Jacobalis
1997    Professor John Watson Funder
1997    Professor Robert Porter
1995   Dr Thomas D Sills
1995    Mr Ronald Parker
1994    Professor John Malcolm Duggan AM
1986    Dr John Yu  AC
1976   Professor George Rupert Palmer

Never miss a RACMA moment