Home The Quarterly 2011 NZ Annual Jurisdiction Report

The Quarterly


NZ Annual Jurisdictional Report 2011 Print E-mail
The Quarterly 2011

Office Bearers

David Rankin
Candidate Representative
Dilky Rasiah
Hon Secretary
Wilson Young
Dell Hood
Hon Treasurer
Kevin Morris
Committee Member
Peter Gootjes
Co-ordinator of Training
David Rankin
CEP Co-ordinator
Stewart Jessamine

David Rankin was elected Chair of the New Zealand Committee on resignation of Andre Nel. The Committee continues to meet every two months by teleconference.

The College maintains close contact with the Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ), Health Workforce New Zealand (HWNZ) and the Chief Medical Advisors Group throughout the year. It also participates in Council of Medical Colleges (CMC) meetings.

RACMA’s programme has been reaccredited by the Medical Council of New Zealand until the end of December 2012. This will align MCNZ’s accreditation schedule with that of the Australian Medical Council (AMC). The next accreditation process will be carried out jointly by the MCNZ and AMC.

Monthly Continuing Educating Program (CEP) meetings continue to be held in Wellington, Whangarei and Auckland. In May, one-day medical leadership and management workshops, led by Lee Gruner, were held in Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington and Dunedin. Over 75 doctors participated in the four workshops. Feedback was overwhelmingly positive.

There is a marked increase in the number of Candidates, especially those on the Accelerated Pathway. Rod Harpin, Peter Jansen, Don Mackie, Nigel Millar and David Sage were successful in the College examination and were admitted as Fellows through this pathway.

Health Workforce New Zealand has signalled a commitment to funding RACMA training positions starting in 2012. This will add a new dimension to RACMA development in New Zealand.

{mosloadposition _myarticle}