Home The Quarterly 2011 NSW Annual Jurisdiction Report

The Quarterly


NSW Annual Jurisdictional Report 2011 Print E-mail
The Quarterly 2011

Office Bearers

Dr Bronwen Ross
Training Co-ordinator
Dr Steevie Chan
Honorary Secretary
Dr Darrell Duncan
Scientific Program Co-ordinator
Dr Tony Sara

The NSW State Committee has continued to meet regularly and conducted the scientific program at Prince of Wales Hospital (POWH) in the Edmund Blackett building. Recent speakers include A/Prof Denis King, Chair of Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health Network and Dr Mary Foley, Director General, NSW Health. The State Committee and other interested Fellows have assisted with career fairs at various medical schools and with the Australian Medical association (AMA) during the year. The AGM was held on 28th October, 2010 with Dr Roger Boyd, President RACMA as the guest speaker on the current and future directions of the College. A joint Scientific Program meeting was held with the RACP Faculty of Public Health Medicine in December 2010.

Jurisdictional specific issues

As raised in last year’s report, workforce issues in medical administration and the lack of a funded training program for RACMA Candidates were the pressing issues. Funding was finally secured from NSW Health for a Chair in Medical Administration Training at the Clinical Education and Training Institute in late 2010 and Dr Vasco Carvalho was appointed to the position in April 2011 along with a part time project officer at the Clinical Education and Training Institute (CETI). This is a very exciting initiative, which is currently in the throes of scoping and benchmarking RACMA training and training positions in NSW compared with other States. The State Chair of RACMA, the NSW RACMA Training coordinator and the national President of RACMA are all participants on the steering committee for the project.

The Chair attended an AMA hosted Forum and was able to direct a workforce question to both the NSW Health Minister and Shadow Health Minister and received a written undertaking from the then Minister Carmel Tebbutt. The Chair continues to participate in the State Chairs Standing Committee with NSW Health although this group has not met over the past 12 months. It is however due to reconvene on 8th September 2011.

The State Committee reviewed its Terms of Reference to align with the new RACMA Constitution and these revised TOR were ratified at the July meeting of the RACMA Board. Preparations are underway for the NSW Margaret Tobin Award on 25th August. There were no nominations for the New Fellow Award or the College Medal from NSW in 2011.

Training and Education

NSW currently has 20 Candidates for Fellowship, many of whom are participating in the Accelerated pathway. The number of candidates intending to sit the Fellowship exam in 2011 is 8 (4 Standard pathway and 4 Accelerated pathway). There has been a high uptake by NSW Fellows of eCEP although increasing participation in CEP overall remains a challenge.

{mosloadposition _myarticle}