If you do not have a username or password, please contact us with your details.

Distinguished Fellow Award


The Distinguished Fellow award was introduced in 2017 and is presented to a RACMA Fellow who provides distinguished meritorious service to the wider healthcare system in a duty of great care.

Nominations can only be made by Jurisdictional Committee Chairs and RACMA Board Directors.

Click Here for the Distinguished Fellow Award Policy.

Past Distinguished Fellow Award recipients


Professor Tracy Smart AO, retired Air Vice Marshal and Professor of Military and Aerospace Medicine at the Australian National University – for services to the greater healthcare system, public health and Medical Leadership.


Dr Jeannette Young, Queensland Chief Health Officer – for years of ongoing commitment to public service and achievement in the wider healthcare system. Also for her role in the COVID-19 response and in keeping Queenslanders safe.


Dr John Menzies – for his leadership, commitment and innovation to improve quality and safety of hospital and health services, and using telemedicine and telehealth services to assist patients and clinicians in rural and remote areas.
Dr Susan O’Dwyer – for her excellence in leadership and significant contribution to medical regulation in Australia and improving education and training for junior doctors, including developing the flagship program RAPTS for international graduates.

2017 (inaugural year)

Professor Erwin Loh – for commitment to governance, research and publication, health services improvement through training and mentorship.

Dr Roy Scragg –  for services to medical administration and governance (signatory and founding College Fellow).
Dr Heather Wellington – for health services governance, safety and quality standards setting, advocacy for medical administration.
Dr Ian Brand – for services to medical administration and governance (signatory and founding College Fellow).
Dr Michael Walsh – for services to health systems performance, management and leadership.
Dr Sally Tideman for medical management and leadership, advocacy, teaching and mentorship  in the South Australian health services.
Dr Richard Ashby AM – for health services leadership and innovation in committing to improve benefits for patients.
Dr Tony Austin AM – for leadership in healthcare in remote and austere environments, for team leadership and mentorship.
Dr Robyn Walker AM – for executive level services as a specialist medical administrator in the Royal Australian Navy using her knowledge and skills in overseas service, medical and disaster emergencies, strategy and policy; for her exemplary leadership and mentoring.
Dr Christine Kilpatrick – for innovation in healthcare services design and leadership.
Dr Andrew Johnson – for executive leadership across public and private hospitals, innovation and leadership in clinical governance and teaching.
Dr Ken Clark – for regional NZ services development and enhancement of clinical governance at all levels – local, regional and national.
Dr Stewart Jessamine – for medical management and leadership in NZ regulatory environments and advocacy of pragmatic approaches in dealing with complex public health issues at the national and international levels. 
Dr Joe McGirr – for services and commitment to clinical and senior health administration and in education, in rural and regional NSW over twenty years working closely with patients, communities and clinicians.
Dr Andy Robertson – for long standing commitment to disaster management response, development, training and education.
Dr Margaret Wilsher – for excellence in medical management and leadership across the private and public sectors in New Zealand.