

THE ROYAL AUSTRALASIAN COLLEGE OF MEDICAL ADMINISTRATORS

Professionalism. Integrity. Excellence. Respect.

DRAFT FIFTY-FIFTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, 28 September 2022 | 2:00-3:00pm AEST Hotel Grand Chancellor, Hobart Tasmania and via Zoom Webinar

Zoom Webinar Link

Webinar ID: https://racma.zoom.us/j/67295295920

Board members in Attendance

Dr H Parsons CSC (Chair/President), Prof A Sandford AM (Chair Finance & Audit), Prof P Navathé (Chair Education & Training), Dr H McArdle (Fellow), A/Prof L Prado (Fellow), Dr M Naidoo (Fellow), Dr A Williams (Associate Fellow), Adi/Prof G Biscoe AM (Director), Prof J Bryson (Director).

Fellows51 in attendance, 22 online
7 in attendance, 7 online

Candidates Affiliates

14 in attendance, 2 online 1 in attendance

Chair as Proxy Apologies

Prof E Loh, Dr Anne Brooks, Dr Claire Hardie

1. WELCOME

The President, Dr Helen Parsons CSC, welcomed all attendees to the fifty-fifth RACMA Annual General Meeting that was held in person and virtually as a Zoom webinar. The President acknowledged all traditional owners and custodians of the lands across the various countries that we are meeting and acknowledged elders past, present, and emerging.

The President outlined all of the meeting formalities and order of proceedings in which the Annual General Meeting would be conducted.

2. APOLOGIES

Prof E Loh, Dr Anne Brooks, Dr Claire Hardie

3. MINUTES OF THE FIFTY-FOURTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2021

3.1 The draft Minutes of the Fifty-Fourth Annual General Meeting that was held via Zoom webinar on Monday 23 October 2021, 2:00pm were presented.

It was moved that the Minutes of the Fifty-Fourth AGM be accepted. The Motion was carried.

THE FIFTY-FIFTH ANNUAL REPORT

4. President's Report

Dr Parsons gave an overview of the significant work that had been undertaken on key priority areas within the College throughout the year and the work that is currently underway.



Dr Parsons introduced new College staff in key leadership roles:

- CEO Cris Massis
- Chair of Policy and Advocacy Adjunct Professor Gillian Biscoe AM
- Lead Fellow for Policy and Advocacy Dr Mary Boyd Turner; and
- Lead Fellow for Continuing Professional Development Dr Greg Watters

The President acknowledged the contribution of:

- College Dean Dr Lynette Lee
- Former Independent Member Director Kiri Rikihana
- Outgoing Board Directors Professor Luis Prado and Dr Mellissa Naidoo, Dr Allison Turnock
- Dr Bill Appleton for his work as the College's Returning Officer.

The President thanked her Board colleagues, Members, Committee Members and College staff for their support and contribution throughout the year.

There were no questions presented to the President.

4.1 It was moved that the report of the President be accepted.

The motion was unanimously carried.

5. Returning Officer's report

Returning Officer Dr Bill Appleton has advised the Board of the following election outcomes:

- Professor Pooshan Navathe is duly elected as the Chair, Education and Training Committee and will assume the position with effect from the 2022 AGM and in accordance with Clause 11.29 will be elected for a term of three years until the 2025 AGM.
- Professor Tony Lawler and Dr Debbie Holdsworth are duly elected as Fellow members and will assume the position with effect from the 2022 AGM and in accordance with Clause 11.29 will be elected for a term of three years until the 2025 AGM.

There were no questions presented.

5.1 It was moved that the outcomes of the recent elections for Chair of Education and Training Committee and Fellow Directors be accepted.

The motion was unanimously carried.

- Dr Cameron Korb-Wells is duly elected as the Candidate member and will assume the position with effect from the 2022 AGM and in accordance with Clause 11.28.3 will be elected for a term of two years until the 2024 AGM, or to the end of candidacy, whichever is sooner.
- 5.2 It was moved to confirm the appointment of Candidate Director, Dr Cameron Korb-Wells be accepted.

The motion was unanimously carried.

5.3 It was moved to confirm the appointment of Independent Member Director, Professor Jane Bryson.

It was moved to confirm the reappointment of Independent Member Director, Adjunct Professor Gillian Biscoe AM.

The motions were unanimously carried.

5.4 It was moved that a vote of thanks to Dr Bill Appleton, Returning Officer be supported.

The motion was unanimously carried.



6. Chair of Finance & Audit Committee Report

Prof Alan Sandford, Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee presented his report and gave an outline of the Auditors' findings and recommendations as well as a comprehensive overview of the College's financial position.

Prof Sandford thanked Saward Dawson for their work on the external audit and Dr R Lawrence for her service to the Committee and acknowledged Members of the Finance and Audit Committee and College staff for their support and assistance throughout the year.

There were no questions presented.

- 6.1 It was moved that the report of the Chair of Finance and Audit Committee be accepted.

 The motion was unanimously carried.
 - 6.2.1 It was moved that the Audited Financial Report 2021-2022 be accepted.

 The motion was carried.

7. Chair of Education & Training Committee Report

Prof Pooshan Navathé outlined the responsibilities of the Education and Training Committee in the coordination, development and delivery of the following programs:

- Fellowship Training Program (FTP)
- Leadership for Clinicians Program (LFC)
- Management for Clinicians Program (MFC)
- Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Prof Navathé gave an overview of the current participation numbers within the programs and provided an update regarding the Australian Medical Council Accreditation, the Medical Management Practice Oral Examinations, FTP Renewal Project and Continuing Professional Development.

Prof Navathé extended his thanks to the Members of the Education and Training Committee and Chairs and Members of its sub-committees, the Director of Education, Chief Executive and the National office staff.

There were no questions presented.

7.1 It was moved that the report of the Chair of Education & Training Committee, incorporating the report of the Continuing Education Program Committee, be accepted.

The motion was unanimously carried.

8. CLOSE

The President thanked all of the Members for attending and for their participation.

The meeting was called to a close at 2:48pm.