header background

NSW Jurisdictional Committee


1. Clause 15 of the Constitution of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA) provides for the establishment of Jurisdictional Committees. This Terms of Reference details how the NSW Jurisdictional Committee of RACMA (hereafter referred to as ‘the Committee’) will operate. Where these Terms of Reference come to vary from the College Regulation ‘Jurisdictional Committees’ (approved Nov 2010), the College Regulation is to take precedence. 

Role of the Committee 

2. As per Clause 15.5 of the RACMA Constitution, the role of the committee is to

2.1 Provide opportunities for professional interaction and development for Members who reside in the jurisdiction or who have joined the jurisdiction

2.2 Assist to ensure effective communication between the College and its Members

2.3. Assist the College to ensure efficient and effective administration within the jurisdiction

2.4 Advise the Board and/or the College on relevant issues affecting Members who reside in the Jurisdiction or issues affecting the practice of Medical Administration generally within the jurisdiction area

2.5 Promote and support the activities of the College within the jurisdiction and

2.6 Such other roles as are delegated to it from time to time.

3. In the absence of a specific delegation the Committee is to act in an advisory capacity only. 

Elected Membership 

4. The Committee is to be elected by the membership of the jurisdiction. For the purposes of election to the Committee a member must reside in NSW at the time of the election. 

5. Members elected to the Committee must be of good standing and are to include:

5.1 Three (3) Fellows

5.2. One (1) recently qualified Fellow (being a Fellow of the College within 4 years of obtaining Fellowship at the time of their election to the Committee)

5.3 One (1) Associate Fellow and

5.4 One (1) Candidate member (while remaining an enrolled candidate of the College and until the end of the elected term OR until the end of the year in which they are awarded Fellowship).

6. The majority of elected members on the committee are to be Fellows. The committee will elect the following office bearers for the committee:

6.1 A Chairperson who is a Fellow of the College

6.2 An Honorary Secretary.

7. The Committee, following a call for Expressions of Interest, is to appoint a Fellow of the College from NSW for each of the following positions which are to be ex officio members of the Committee:

7.1 Chair of Jurisdictional Training (to also be a member of the Training Sub Committee of the College’s National Education and Training Committee) and

7.2 Continuing Education Program (CEP) Coordinator (to also be a member of the CEP Sub Committee of the College’s National Education and Training Committee)

8. Members are elected to the Committee for a period of three (3) years. Members may be co-opted by the Committee to fill vacancies or for specific purposes as required 9. Elections are to be conducted in a manner approved by the Board and consistent with College Regulation: Conduct of a Postal Ballot (where the election is conducted by post) 

Frequency of Meetings 

10. The Committee is to meet at least twice yearly. 


11. One half of the total numbers of the Committee present is to constitute a quorum. This may include attendance by teleconference, video conference or other technology. No attendance by proxy is allowed at meetings of the Committee. 


12. Minutes are to be recorded of each meeting of the Committee and approved by the Committee at the following meeting. Copies of draft minutes are to be sent to the College Chief Executive within two weeks of the Committee meeting for presentation at the next Board meeting. 

General Meetings 

13. At least one General Meeting of members in the jurisdiction is to be held each year. Additional General Meetings may be called by the Committee if required.

14. General meetings will be chaired by the Committee Chair. If the Committee Chair is absent the Fellows present at the General Meeting must elect a Chair for the meeting.

15. Only Fellows may vote on resolutions put to a general meeting of the jurisdiction

Never miss a RACMA moment