If you do not have a username or password, please contact us with your details.

Award – Margaret Tobin Challenge


1.0          PURPOSE

The Challenge Award was renamed to the Margaret Tobin Challenge Award in December 2002. The renaming of the award was to recognise the late Dr Margaret Tobin’s contribution to RACMA and for her passion in developing leadership in the field of mental health.

This Challenge award is presented to the highest calibre Candidate presentation (12 minutes) aligned to the conference theme or sub themes.

2.0          BACKGROUND

Dr Tobin, a psychiatrist, worked in the policy unit of the Victorian Health Department and was the Area Mental Health Director for Southern Sydney Area Health Services, and South Eastern Sydney Area Health Service. Following this appointment, she held the role of South Australia’s Director of Mental Health Services, where she led one of the most complex reforms of mental health in Australia and New Zealand. Margaret’s work in the field, was widely published in national and international journals.


3.1              The criteria of the award is a 12 minute Candidate presentation (with a further three minutes allocated to questions), which is based on:

  • relevance of a topic that aligns to the conference themes or sub themes;
  • a presentation which is clear and concise content delivered in a non ‘jargonistic’ manner;
  • a presentation which is well structured, well communicated and engages the audience;
  • the Candidates impact and originality, which contributes to the theory and practice of Medical Management; and
  • the Candidate adequately addressing each point of a question.


3.2              The judging panel will determine in their opinion, which Candidate presents the highest quality presentation paper. The panel consists of:

  • the Censor in Chief;
  • the Chair of the Continuing Education Program Committee; and
  • the Chair of the Education and Training Committee.

4.0          NOMINATIONS

4.1              The College Office will seek a nomination (one candidate only) annually from Jurisdictional Committees.

4.2              State/Territory/New Zealand Committees are asked to encourage Candidates representatives to present a paper for the award.

4.3              State/Territory/New Zealand Committees must declare nominations to the College office.

4.4              The presentations are judged at the annual conference.

4.5              The award will be presented to the recipient at the closing of the annual conference.

4.6              In addition to receiving the award, the winning Candidate will also receive a $1,500 money prize.

5.0          ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible for nomination of the Margaret Tobin award, the following must be met:

  • be a person who is a RACMA Candidate and who has been formally declared as a nominee to the College office;
  • align a topic to the conference theme or sub theme;
  • have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to RACMA; and
  • have demonstrated leadership in an area that promotes College activities.


All nominees must be in good standing with the College.


Expenses incurred by the recipient to receive the award are not reimbursed. The successful recipient will receive a money prize of $1500 in addition to the award.


Approval Date: June 2019
Review Date: June 2021
Approved by: The Board

Past Challenge Award recipients:

2019Dr Rajdeep Ubeja
2018Dr Amber Winter
2017Dr Piraveen Pirakalathanan
2016Dr Sonia Chanchlani
2015Dr Sean Keogh
2014Dr Sergio diez Alvarez
2013Dr Paul Eleftheriou
2012Dr Leah Barrett-Beck
2011Dr Glendon Farrow
2010Dr Bennie Ng
2010Dr Heidi Yeats
2009Dr Albert Ip
2008Dr Erwin Loh
2007Dr Marc Lacos
2006Dr Nick Fletcher
2005Dr Malcolm Mohr
2004Dr Alison Dwyer
2003Dr Craig Margetts
2002Dr P.K. Loh
2001Dr Mark Lubliner
2000Dr John Gallichio
1999Dr Campbell Miller
1999Professor Leslie Burnett
1998Dr Leonie Katekar
1997Dr Bernard Street
1996Dr Jennifer Majoor
1995Dr Andrew Baker
1994Dr John De Campo
1993Dr Michael Cleary
1992Dr Shane Kelly
1991Dr Richard Cockington
1991Dr Marcus Hodge
1990Dr Michael Walsh