Home The Quarterly 2011 Conference Wrap Up

The Quarterly


Conference Wrap Up Print E-mail
The Quarterly 2011


This year's Annual Scientific Meeting entitled The Great Healthcare Challenge 2011 - Achieving Patient Centred Outcomes, was presented by The Healthcare Collaboration comprising the Australian Association for Quality in Health Care, The Australian Council on Healthcare Standards, Australian Healthcare and Hospital Association and RACMA. Around 700 delegates attended extremely successful event from the 11th to the 14th of October at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

Preconference Workshops
A number of interesting pre-conference workshops were delivered on the first day, with the RACMA hosted event "The Elements of Disaster: Fire, Earth, Air and Water" attracting the most delegates. Thank you to our Chair Dr David Rankin and Presenters: Doctors Andy Robertson, Mike Hills, Peter Aitken, Paul Cullen, Richard Ashby, Nigel Millar, Alison McMillan, Tony Austin, Robyn Walker and Dell Hood. This session was video recorded and when available will be posted on the RACMA website and utilised as a learning tool.

Presidents Drinks
Our Past Presidents, Board members and major sponsors were invited to the President’s Drinks in the West Tower Suites overlooking the city of Melbourne.

Welcome Drinks
Our President Roger Boyd addressed the crowd on behalf of the collaborating partners at the Welcome Drinks. The invited guests were serenaded by a string quartet whilst perusing the sponsor displays.

Conference Key Note Speakers
Keynote speakers included: Professor's Chris Baggoley and Jeffrey Braithwaite, Doctor’s John Clark, Russell Mannion and Sally Cockburn; and Ms Beverley Johnson.

Margaret Tobin Challenge Award
Two Candidates competed for the coveted Margaret Tobin Challenge Award in the Arthur Street Auditorium on the first day of the conference. Glen Farrow represented NSW and presented "How Value, Quality and the Patient Journey Intersect: Lessons learnt from Microsoft Excel" and Jason Goh represented Victoria and presented "Leading change: improving hospital patient care at night". Glen Farrow was victorious however congratulations must be extended to each Candidate for their excellent presentation standard.

Conferment Ceremony
This year the College conferred 27 new Fellows. Drs Lorraine Welch, Suzanne Phillips, Peter Satterthwaite and John Elcock received their testamurs in absentia.


Dr Peter Lowthian

Assoc Prof Christopher Milross

Dr Jacinta Powell

Dr Stephen Davis

Dr Joel Dulhunty

Dr Simon Fraser

Dr Alan O'Connor

Dr Mauritius Du Toit

Dr Paul Alexander

Assoc Prof Caroline Clarke

Dr Peter Dohrmann

Dr Roderick Harpin

Dr Peter Jansen

Prof Christine Kilpatrick

Dr Donald Mackie

Dr Nigel Millar

Dr James Oldham

Dr Grant Phelps

Dr Luis Prado

Dr David Sage

Dr Robyn Walker

Dr Alan Wolff

Prof John Zalcberg

Graduation group

RACMA Award Winners
College Medallion
Dr David Rankin

Dr David Rankin joined the College in 1991 and has actively promoted RACMA in New Zealand. David established and was the first Chair of the New Zealand committee. David negotiated the formal recognition of medical administration as a vocationally registered specialty with the Medical Council of New Zealand in 2001. He Chaired the New Zealand Committee and represented New Zealand on Council between 2004 and 2007. David was President of the College in 2009 and 2010 during which later period he facilitated the adoption of the new College Constitution.

David has been a Censor from 2000 to 2008 and Chaired the Board of Studies for New Zealand from 2002 to the present and continues now as Chair of the New Zealand Committee.

The Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators awards Dr David Rankin the College Medallion in recognition of the major contribution made by him in the fields of education, service and governance to the College.


New Fellow Achievement Award

Dr Erwin Loh
Margaret Tobin Challenge Award

Glen Farrow
Bernard Nicholson Award 2010

Dr Luis Prado
Bernard Nicholson Award 2011

Dr Jacinta Powell

Langford Oration
Professor John Catford delivered a stirring and stimulating presentation on Creating Political Will: Moving from the Science to the Art of Health Care.

Gala Dinner
The social highlight of the conference program was the Spring Racing Carnival Gala Dinner held in the Sofitel Grand Ballroom. Many of the guests competed in Fashions on the Field and the dummy race call. The Queensland crew were living it up - leading the conga line and corrupting the masses. A great night was had by all.

Closing and Hypothetical
The conference was rounded out with keynote addresses from our State Minister for Health Mr David Davis and the Federal Minister for Health, The Hon Nicola Roxon.

The final presentation was a hypothetical and was chaired by Mr Bernie Street; the panel members included keynote speakers from the conference including: Jeffrey Braithwaite, Mick Reid, Karen Linegar, Karen Luxford, Bev Johnson, Michael Walsh, Carol Bennett and John Clark.

Ms Michelle Barrett
Curriculum and Training Coordinator

{mosloadposition _myarticle}